“Working” From Home.

Working from an office, or from a gas station, or from the frialator is a lot like working from home. If you don’t agree, whatever. You’ll never be successful or productive without the following in either setting:

 

  1. Drive. You need some internal encouragement to get your tail out of bed, and get to work. This could be for that car you want, that girl who don’t like you because you don’t have that car you want, etc.
  2. Order. If you aren’t organized, you’ll go through hell every time you need to find that thing you misplaced minutes ago. Did you even have it in your hands before, or were you day dreaming about using it? Do you have a clear grasp of what it even looks like?
  3. A Schedule. If you don’t know what to do, why the hell are you even employed.

 

That last part is actually kinda fun when working from home. You don’t have a very rigid schedule, unless you only do 2 or 3 things to make money. Even then, you can still play around with it a bit.

 

Example: I like to break everything down to 15 or 30 minute chunks, and do something else after my timer goes off. It keeps me from getting stuck, as I can go back to a task later on, with less stress involved. I’m keeping myself busy while doing this. It isn’t 30 minutes of Zazzle, then 15 minutes of reddit, then 30 minutes of stuffing my face. I try to get everything done as soon as possible.

 

I cycle through all my work at least 3 times a day. My current schedule lasts for 4 hours and 30 minutes. Once I’m done, I usually go back again and create more Zazzle designs in GIMP, or check the SEO of some of the products I already have online. So if I’m not adding stuff to my stores, I’m doing whatever I can to promote what’s already there.

 

Without a clear cut schedule, one I trust because I can tweak it to fit my liking for the day, I wouldn’t get half the amount of work done. When you have a ton of ideas for something, you might write them down and go on to do something else. Or, you sit there thinking about how cool the outcome would be if you actually did something. The reward is very nice. You’ll never get it though, unless you write down what it takes to get it, and then follow through on that.

 

Leave a Reply

